Fashion and Wardrobes

5 Nov

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about my wardrobe. Perhaps because for the two months I’ve been at university so far I’ve seen a huge amount of diversity in style and fashion — everything from sweatpants and Ugg boots to high heels and tailored trench coats. This has led me to realize that I am severely lacking a sense of fashion.

I wouldn’t say that I’m exactly unstylish, but I’m the girl who wears basic jeans, t-shirts, and hoodies and the same pair of sneakers every day. And now I’ve realized that maybe I need to…amp it up a little bit.

So, I’ve been searching the blogosphere for tips and tricks for updating and tweaking your wardrobe. A ‘wardrobe makeover’, so to speak. And I thought I’d share the posts I found with you. I’ve found many of them really helpful for coming up with some new ideas for my overhauled fashion sense. Enjoy!

*     *     *     *

Megan of Charade has two great posts on wardrobe tips. The first, How to Create a Wardrobe for Every Season, lists some ideas for creating a core wardrobe with buildable and practical pieces. She has also written the article How to Make an Autumn/Winter Wardrobe on a Budget. Again, she focuses on practical, timeless pieces that will work for years to come. I think these tips are really great for giving you an idea of what the important pieces really are and where you should be ‘splurging’ your money.

Sally of Already Pretty wrote a similar piece on building your wardrobe through basics. She explains the reason for building a wardrobe of basics, and makes some pretty interesting and unique points. This post provides a good background to Megan’s articles.

The author behind Frugalista discusses how to create your own style and the article ties in with several of the ideas Sally talked about in her article.

Probably my favourite fashion blog ever that I have been reading for a while is College Fashion (created by Zephyr), which is surely a staple for university-aged girls exploring the fashion industry. One of her articles, Wardrobe Essentials for College Girls, is similar to the first article I listed of Megan’s. This has become the basis and inspiration for my new plan for my wardrobe. I also love Zephyr’s article onFashion Beyond Abercrombie & Fitch. While I don’t wear anything from A&F, you could say I’m currently a little bit of an ‘A&F’ type clone. This article was originally one that began to wake me up from my style-less reverie. It’s very inspiring and may give you a kick in the butt to change up your style a little bit too!

While cruising the web, I also found the Working Closet blog. While it isn’t very applicable to me, as I’m just a freshman university student and don’t even have a part time job, I have a feeling it will be very useful in the future when I began to look for a professional job. If any of you are in that situation, perhaps you can find some inspiration here for appropriate, stylish, and unique professional fashion.

I hope you enjoyed this post and maybe found some of these articles as well. When I’ve compiled a bit of a wish list for some new clothes, perhaps I will post it here for you to see what I’ve come up with!

Please leave a comment let me know what you think! And if you’ve found any articles or blog posts on this topic, leave them below. I wouldlove to read some more on this. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

